Skip to content

things i'm jamming…

all the random things i'm obsessed with at this current time

I’m changing up the stylo of my bloggity blog and profiling some things I’m into, which you may or may not in turn get into.  I’m one of those chickees who gets on weekly roller coasters of obsession with this and that, so I thought I’d share.  It will be anything from new (to me) muzac, to flicks, to things that sit on my vanity (aka beauty and hair finds), to clothes and the like…you get the idea.  So first thing’s first….

I’m really into Stubbs the Zombie: The Soundtrack…please, PLEASE everyone don’t applaud at once for how cool I am!  (see?  see what I did there with the sarcasm?)  Before you judge me too harshly for this insanely weird pick for my first article au jamming, hear me out.  I was flipping through the channelz the other night and came across an unamed, insanely dramatic teen drama about (what else?) vamps.  I became intrigued by the plot (see..you’re judging me again…I thought we were friends) and watched on.  This particular episode was set at a 50’s themed sock hoppy dance and as I was expecting your usual jerry lee lewis/buddy holly/ELVIS extravaganza, I was shocked by the updated coolness radiating into my eardrum.  It was 50’s classics alright (‘Runaway’, ‘Mr. Sandman’, ‘All I Have to Do Is Dream’), but they sounded amazingly rocktastic (word? I don’t know, neither do I care).  I had to snap out of my daydream about that ‘Are You Afraid of the Dark?’ episode about the dead prom queen, and think to myself ‘Where can I hear some complete versions of this stuff?’.  The great thing about television these days is that they tell you what song they’re playing right down there at the bottom of your screen, a footer if you will, so I grabbed my handy dandy iTunes (you thought I was going to say ‘notebook’ didn’t you?) and looked it up.  To my astonishment, most of the tunes they used were from a video game soundtrack.  Weird, but nevertheless true.  I am completely obsessed with these trackz.  They are so fresh and different from what I’ve been hearing on the airwaves lately.  I’m a sucker for a cover and these are some of the best I’ve heard in a while.  We all remember jammin’ to the oldies (Fox 97?…that was too soon) with our parents on the way to the 6th grade car pool lane, but these ‘oldies’ are updated by such indie crooners as Oranger, Death Cab for Cutie, and The Raveonettes.  The bands have put their own spin on these little gems, and the result is a blend between ‘Cry Baby’ and ’28 Days Later’.  Check it out and I promise you won’t be disappointed.  Here’s a little taste of one of the oh-so-choice tracks, complete with a picture of this alleged ‘Stubbs’ fellow…with half a torso…as zombies do…typical.  So here it is, on a silver platter.  Enjoy one of the grandest video game soundtracks of all time…well…that I know of…maybe they make them for all video games…I’m not up on my gamer jargon…I wonder if there’s one for Wii Fit?